HomeNewsNational NewsBy-Elections: IK bags six seats

By-Elections: IK bags six seats

The unofficial results show that PTI Chairman Imran Khan, who was running in seven different constituencies, won six of the eight National Assembly seats up for grabs in Pakistan on Sunday, giving a blow to the parties that make up the ruling coalition.

The PTI leader defeated candidates from the ruling coalition to win seats in Peshawar, Mardan, Charsadda, Faisalabad, and Nankana Sahib, but lost to Abdul Hakeem Baloch and Musa Ali Gillani of the PPP.

In addition, the main opposition party won two of the three Punjab Assembly seats up for grabs in the by-elections, further solidifying its hold over the nation’s largest province where it co-rules with PML-Q.

The constituencies where polling took place included NA-22 Mardan-III, NA-24 Charsadda-II, NA-31 Peshawar-V, NA-108 Faisalabad-VIII, NA-118 Nankana Sahib-II, NA 157 Multan-IV, NA-237 Malir-II, NA-239 Korangi, Karachi-I.

After NA Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf accepted the resignations of the PTI MNAs—nine on general seats and two on reserved seats for women—the lower house seats became vacant.

Additionally, by-elections were held for the PP-241 Bahawalnagar-V, PP-209 Khanewal-VII, and PP-139 Sheikhupura-V Punjab Assembly seats.

You may want to read


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments